I’m 52 and I’m Fed Up.

I’m 52 years old today.  It has been a remarkable journey.   Some years have passed by much too quickly.  Others have been as slow and painful as the Rosie O’Donnell Variety Show.   Some of the lessons that God has taught me have been more painful than others.  But, through it all, His Grace has been sufficient for my every need.

I’ve always had a big mouth.  One of the most painful lessons I’ve had to learn is when to keep it shut.  However, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed that those who seek to impose their will on us, as a free nation, appear to be doing and saying whatever outrageous, hurtful, treasonous, and unpatriotic things that they want to, counting on all of us average, Christian Americans (75% of the population, per Gallup) to keep our collective mouths shut.

Well, you know what?  I’m 52 and I’m fed up.

I’m fed up with less than 10 % of our population being so self-involved and bitter in their belief that all of this fantastic Universe around us just happened, that they try to make Christians as bitter as they are.  Especially, this time of year as we celebrate the birth of our Saviour. 

These learned individuals completely ignore the writings of brilliant men, such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, who said:

All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen.

or G. K. Chesterton, who said:

When men stop believing in God, they don’t believe in nothing.  They believe in anything.

I’m fed up with a bunch of amoral, treasonous hyenas controlling the entertainment industry.  These are the brilliant individuals who have brought us such cinematic masterpieces as Redacted and The Golden Compass and such high brow television entertainment like My Dad Says @#$% ! 

In the music industry, the song  @#$% You! (which is being sung on Glee as Forget You!) is being honored for an industry award. 

I can remember when The Rolling Stones had to change the words to their hit, Let’s Spend the Night Together to Let’s Spend Some Time Together on The Ed Sullivan Show because of the CBS Censors.

I’m fed up with spoiled, crybaby professional athletes.  Some idiot the other day tweeted (that’s a whole other subject) that he was mad at God for making him drop a pass.  That crybaby should get on his knees and thank God every day for allowing him to make obscene amounts of money, playing a game that most of us are restricted to playing with family and friends in our front yard.

New York Giants Safety Andrel Rolle told the media that the fans should not be booing them for being a lousy football team, because they’re like American soldiers reeturning from Iraq…or something.

Gimme a break.

I’m fed up with the Liberal Media and Conservatives, too, who ought to know better after suffering all these years, unmercifully attacking Sarah Palin two years away from a Presidential Election that she hasn’t even announced her intentions for, yet.

There was story on Fox and Friends this morning about folks who camped out overnight  at one of her book signings.  She really does connect with a lot of average Americans.

By the way, has Mitt Romney endorsed anyone in the 2010 Midterm Elections, yet?

I’m fed up with the Obama’s, and the pinheaded bureaucrats and academicians in their administration who believe that they have the right to tell us how to raise and what to feed our children.  San Francisco has voted to take the toys out of kids’ McDonald’s Happy Meals! 

These are our children and grandchildren.  We will raise them as we see fit.

Not only do they want to tell us what we can feed to our children, they want to control what we eat.  In New York City, Mayor Bloomberg wants to ban salt from restaurants.  What?  Banning Trans Fat and making french fries, potato chips, and popcorn taste different wasn’t enough?

I’m 52 years old. If I want to have Popeye’s Fried Chicken with mashed potatoes, fried okra, and biscuits, it’s none of your dadblamed business, Michelle (ma belle).  People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.  Have you surveyed your own Southern flank lately?

Finally, I’m fed up with Obama, his administration, his political party, and Congress.  These people are so riddled with self-importance, and so intellectually constricted by their self-imposed boundaries of the Beltway Elite society that they live in, that they have completely lost touch with the citizens of the country that they are supposed to represent.  They somehow believe that it is in their best interests to govern on behalf of the 18 % of Americans who identify themselves as being Liberals.  And those that don’t really believe in this Liberal/Progressive/Marxist ideology, don’t seem to possess the intestinal fortitude to man up and actually serve the people who elected them.

One would have thought that the Political Massacre on November 2nd would have gotten their attention.  However, judging from their actions since they got back to work Monday, this oblivious pack of political scavengers seem bound and determined to gnaw as much meat off of the bones of the American Dream as they can before the Big Dog of American Conservatism returns to Washington in January.

However, as fed up as I am, I always have hope.  My hope springs not from any political figure or political ideology, but from the One who created me and loves me, in spite of all my shortcomings.  This video of one of my favorite songs sums up what I’ve been trying to say.   God is good.  All the time.  May God bless you all.

18 Responses to “I’m 52 and I’m Fed Up.”

  1. Robin Says:

    I subscribe to your blog and usually enjoy your posts. I understand your position of coming to your conclusions through the lens of being a “Christian American Conservative”. However, as a non-Christian American it saddens me that you put all non-believers into the same basket. I also think discussing issues from a position based on your belief that because 75 percent of Americans subscribe to the same religious idea this “majority” should be listened to more greatly than others with different opinions. As the percentage of Christians in this country shrinks (and it is shrinking, for better or worse, as Muslim populations are rising around the world) and as more people identify themselves as non-believers, does that make your arguments less persuasive? Do my opinions matter less because I don’t attend church? You are usually very articulate and persuasive based on the truth of what you believe in – that the Obama administration doesn’t, at base, have the best interests of the country at heart and that Obama himself has a separate and undiscussed agenda, and that the rise of the Muslim population around the world constitutes a great threat to freedoms we have long enjoyed in America and should be understood in a political and not religious context. I hope to read more of that and less of slamming of people just because they don’t agree with you.

    p.s. Happy Birthday!

    • kingsjester Says:

      Robin, my reaction towards unbelievers stems from what I have perceived as a defensive, undeserved condecension toward Conservative Christians. As an informed person, I know you have seen it, too. It was those sort of hateful individuals that my comments were aimed at. We are all free to believe as we wish, at least for now, in our great country, thanks to the documents which our Founding Fathers wrote that were based on a Judeo-Christian belief system. My dear, I thank you for being a faithful reader, and my intent was not to impune you, as an innocent non-believer. However, as a Chrstian man, I do hope that one day you will find the peace and assurance that Believers possess though Him. If you are ever curious, may I recommend the Gospel according to John. Again, thank you for reading and the birthday wishes.

  2. Sound Man Says:

    Good write up. Thanks for the time & effort.

  3. lovingmyUSA Says:

    Robin, 91% believe in God or some universal being. To be a Christian today is to stand in the fire–or haven’t you heard of the football player who was penalized for acknowledging God for a touchdown at a football game? Or maybe you haven’t heard how they are calling Christmas, a “Winter Holiday”–taking the whole reason for the season and throwing it aside? Palin and Tea Partiers are lambasted as Right-Wing “Christian Conservatives”, in as sneering and hateful vindictives—and you want us to feel sorry for “hurting your feelings”??? Sorry you are lumped in with the ones who want to tear down our religion, but if you don’t speak up for us, then you are against us. Same as the moderate Muslims that don’t speak out against the Muslim radical terrorists…

  4. lovingmyUSA Says:

    Happy birthday KJ…and it’s your birthday, you can rant if you want to!!!!

  5. Robin Says:

    To lovingmyUSA: I have heard everything, trust me. Your claim of “if you don’t speak up for us, then you are against us” is truly frightening to me. It is possible for reasonable people to disagree and have decent discourse without it having to be an “us or them” mentality. Of all things I have heard, though, I have never been compared to a Muslim of any stripe for objecting to someone claiming all non-Christians are railing against religious believers. I have never been disrespectful to anyone who has posted here, and I find what you have said to me to be highly offensive. I don’t care if you feel sorry for my “hurt feelings” or not. I didn’t post hoping for sympathy. I posted hoping that people who know how they feel when others put down their beliefs and opinions would understand that it isn’t appropriate to be doing it to someone else. And, lovingmyUSA, might I point out to you that of the 91 percent who believe in God or some universal being, a good number of those (and growing) are Muslim, and there are a good number of them that would like to eliminate you completely. Somehow your 91 percent doesn’t sound so monolithic now, does it?

    • Charles Says:

      Thank you. Both your comments represent my thoughts as well, but you expressed them better than I could have.

    • Crimefyter Says:

      Robin…there is a war against Christianity in America and most likely the world. Whether it be religious or ideological, as a Christian, I’m standing on the front line. I’ll not be denied my right to expres my religious beliefs not will I willingly allow our American traditions to be stripped away like some old layer of varnish. You’ve mentioned, twice, that the Muslim population is growing. How quaint, hopefully we as a nation will wake up and quit aborting our unborn in massive proportions. At the rate we are going, the Muslims will overtake us by attrition alone. Have a great day!

  6. Crimefyter Says:

    Wishing you a very happy 52nd birthday, KJ. I can fondly recall the ability and desire to play family football in the front yard. Having been left face down in the dust these past several years I am now reduced to displaying my skills on the computer. :-) Hang around long enough and you’ll know what I mean, pal. Anyway, party hearty and have a great day!

  7. Robin Says:

    To Crimefyter: I would never deny anyone their right to express their religious beliefs (which is why, in great part, I want America to reclassify Islam as a political system and not a religious belief system). You need to understand that all American traditions are not rooted in religion, and those that are may of necessity have to be changed. The very reason you have the right to express your beliefs is the same reason that it is important that in America, religion be separated from public secular life. Having said that, it isn’t “quaint” that the Muslim population is growing, it is a frightening reality of modern life. If you read the Q’uran and understand what is required of Muslims you will understand that Sharia law and Constitutional law are not compatible, and it is that reason that there are separate Sharia courts in some Western countries cropping up now, and why there is a very real fear of what will happen here when Islam creeps towards five and then ten percent of the population. Fighting with me because I don’t believe in any religion, when you have a religion (who, I might point out, believes in the very same God you say you believe in) that has as its main tenet an entire world of Muslim followers living in a Muslim theocracy growing right next to you, is an exercise in idiocy and futility. You would do better to keep your eye on the ball that really counts and not alienate someone who might otherwise be an ally.

    • Sound Man Says:

      Robin, you sound like a very sensable, well spoken person, and I really dont sense anger in your writing. The only point I would like to add is what you stated about “our God”. He is not just our God, He is your God also, you just may not know it yet. I hope someday while you are still on this earth, you will. Without moving folks to turn inward and seek answers, disciples would not be made. Hope you have a great rest of the day.

  8. Jvette Says:

    KJ, we are of the same age and the same mind. Happy Birthday! The greatest gift is knowing that God is good and even when we forget that, He doesn’t.

  9. Lanceman Says:

    I’monlyyeartsbehindyou.Happybirtthday.

    Spilledcoffeeinkeyboartd..

  10. Janet Says:

    Well said KJ!

  11. Kini Says:

    Happy Birthday, or in my language “Hau’oli La Hanau”. I’m 53.

    Like you, I’m fed up also, but I haven’t given up. I don’t think you have either.

  12. Gohawgs Says:

    A day late and an egg short…

    http://www.happycluckingbirthday.com/

    btw, geeze ur old…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,617 other followers

